Current Training Programme Directors

This position is split. Dr Nicky Simler is a Consultant Physician based at Papworth Hospital. Dr Clare Sander is a Consultant Physician based at Addenbrooke's Hospital.

Dr Nicky Simler​

I am Nicky Simler and I share the TPD role for Respiratory Medicine. I graduated from Manchester Medical School and stayed in the Manchester  region for my junior training. I took time out to do an MD Thesis in Interstitial Lung Disease and gained valuable bronchoscopy experience in the Wythenshawe Lung Transplant Centre.  I then completed my respiratory training in the North West Thames Deanery passing through the Royal Brompton Hospital. My first  Consultant post was at  Hinchingbrooke Hospital starting in 2006 where I worked as a general Chest Physician as well as doing ILD Specialist work at Papworth Hospital. I have now (August 2019) moved to Royal Papworth hospital on a full time basis to do more Specialist ILD work with an additional commitment to general respiratory work at Addenbrooke’s Hospital.

I am passionate about providing a good learning environment for doctors in training and ensuring that the Eastern Deanery produces excellent respiratory physicians. We have a large number of trainees (currently 67) as we encourage out of programme time for research and other more focused training experiences such as fellowships.  I am happy to be contacted by email (  or via Papworth switchboard if you would like to discuss coming to train in this region with us.


Dr Clare Sander

Biography to follow. 


Respiratory Medicine Specialty Training Committee 

The training committee meet twice a year during EATS (May and November). Training issues are discussed during these meetings. Below are the contact for the committee members, who are happy to be contacted with any comments or queries.

Forename Surname Location Position Held 
Thomas Pulimood WSH Chair
Clare Sander CUH Training Programme Director
Nicky Simler Papworth Training Programme Director
Fraz Mir CUH Head of School, Medicine
Ian Barton HEE Deputy Postgraduate Dean
Mark Webb CUH  
Mohammed  Azher Bedford  
Beate Ebert Hinchingbrooke  
Nicholas  Innes Ipswich  
Ajay Kamath NNUH  
Rekha Badiger Colchester  
Duncan Powrie Southend  
Samir Naik Harlow  
Muhammad Anwar Bedford  
Keith Hattotuwa MEHT  
Johnson Samuel BTUH  
Pasupathy Sivasothy CUH/Peterborough Simulation lead
David Meek Papworth  
Subramani Durairaj QEHKL  
Matthew  Knight WHHT  
Parthipan Pillai LDH  
Thida Win Lister   
Duduzile Musa NNUH GIM TPD
Mark  Pasteur NNUH GIM Representative
Charles Haworth   Structured Training Director
Andrew Wilson NNUH Research Representative
Joseph Newman   Trainee Representative
Rachel  D'oliveiro   Trainee Representative
Susan Knight HEE HEE
Sarah Cubitt NNUH School of Medicine Administrator


Wednesday, 14 August, 2019
Make this a News Item?: 
Show Between Dates: 
Wednesday, 14 August, 2019