Consultant and Trainee Leads for LTFT

Our Programme Director for LTFT, Dr Francesca Crawley, has been working hard to allocate specific LTFT consultants in each school/specialty.

We thought it would be helpful to identify a dedicated LTFT consultant and trainee leads for each school/specialty.

The purpose of these roles is to provide advice and support to trainees looking to apply or already working LTFT.

Feedback from former and current LTFT consultant and trainees is available here.

Please find the below contact details for the Consultant and Trainee Leads for LTFT for your school/specialty.

Please feel free to contact them for advice relating to LTFT training.

As well as this please feel free to direct any queries relating to the LTFT application process to our generic inbox:  ltft.eoe@hee.nhs.uk

Anaesthetics

Consultant:

Nina Walton nina.walton@meht.nhs.uk  

Laura Kessack 

Trainee:

Katharina Kohler (ST4 Trainee)

katharina.kohler@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Emergency Medicine

Consultant:

Francoise Sheppard

francoise.sheppard@nnuh.nhs.uk

 

Trainee:

Jill Patterson

jill.patterson@qehkl.nhs.uk

Foundation

Consultant:

Francesca Crawley

Francesca.Crawley@hee.nhs.uk

 

Trainee Reps:

Sarah Maria Leiter                                           

SarahMaria.Leiter@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

❝My name is Sarah Leiter and I’m currently an FY1 at Addenbrookes. I have been training less-than-full-time since the starting work. Alongside being a doctor, I am an athlete representing Great Britain at the Paralympic Sport of goalball. I currently work 70% to give me time for training and to attend international competitions. To negotiate a complex rota, you have to be pro-active and prepared to negotiate at times but my experience has been positive so far.❞


Dr Danielle Nicole Edie Smith 

 
 
❝Unfortunately I experienced a period of illness resulting in 3 months off sick from work. After meeting with my educational supervisor and the education department lead, they suggested an application for LFTT in order to offer me a better work/life balance, and to remove some of the stress I have been experiencing in my life, which was coming from work and having a negative impact. I am in my current FY2 post in LFTT, and felt the benefits of 80% hours both immediately and immensely. It has allowed me to focus on my health, improve my life outside work by allowing additional time to work on hobbies and interest, and improved my overall experience at work. LFTT has therefore been incredibly valuable to me, and I would recommend it to anyone in a similar circumstance to myself.❞
 
General Practice

Educator Leads:

Please contact your scheme TPDs who are all experienced in giving advice on LTFT Training.

Trainee Reps:

Claudia Del Vecchio

GPST2, Luton Scheme

 
'I’m currently a GPST2. I have been LTFT trainee since Foundation year 1 (2013). Initially for health reasons and now because I have a 2 years old girl. Being LTFT trainee has really helped my personal life but also I think I have enjoyed the different specialties more compared to my FT colleagues as the rotas were more bearable and I had more time to rest between the shifts : for example, during A&E'

I would recommend this type of training to everyone.

 
Kaushiki Balachandiran
 
GPST2, Colchester and Ipswich Scheme
 
 
 
Alessandra Ines Reis Clarke
 
GPST2, Bury St Edmunds Scheme
 
 

“Hi, my name is Alessandra. I have been a LTFT trainee since joining the GP training scheme in 2018. Working as LTFT gives me a greater level of flexibility to balance my home and career ambitions. I have found that the Deanery have been very accommodating at working with me to ensure I can meet both of these objectives. I am keen to encourage others to follow the same route as me, in order to promote personal well being and a good quality work/ life balance.”

 
 
Medicine

Specialty

Consultant

Trainee 

Cardiology

Denise Braganza

denise.braganza@papworth.nhs.uk

Kristian Skinner

kristian.skinner1@nhs.net

Care of the Elderly

Joanna Hampton

 

Joanna.Hampton@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Clinical Oncology

Fiona Harris fiona.harris@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Internal Medicine Training (IMT) - Core Medical Training (CMT)

Anthony Chan

Anthony.Chan@meht.nhs.uk

Thida Win

thida.win@nhs.net 

 

Endocrinology & Diabetes

Eleanor Gurnell

Eleanor.Gurnell@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Gastroenterology

Anita Gibbons

anita.gibbons@nhs.net

Sophie Sinclair

My name is Sophie Sinclair, I am a LTFT gastroenterology trainee. I started training in 2011 and became LTFT in 2016 after the birth of my first daughter and have dropped my hours further since the arrival of my second daughter. Like many trainees, caring for my children is my primary reason for becoming LTFT, as my husband, who is also LTFT, and I decided we wanted to share the child care between us. I have found that LTFT training has given me a better work-life balance; although my career is still important to me, it is not my only focus and I feel that life is all the richer for that. Although it comes with its challenges, I have not found myself particularly disadvantaged compared to my FT colleagues and just feel privileged to be able to still pursue a rewarding career as well as have an active role in home life. I believe that it is in the interest of the NHS to promote LTFT training to male and female doctors, as it has great potential to improve job satisfaction and decrease burnout. Our family has certainly benefitted.

Haematology

Emma Gudgin

emma.gudgin@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Kat Sturgess

Emma.gudgin@addenbrookes.nhs.uk 

Neurology

Francesca Crawley

francesca.crawley@hee.nhs.uk 

 

Respiratory

Nicki Simler

Nicola.simler@nhs.net

Kate Millward

kate.millward1@nhs.net

Rheumatology

Rita Abdulkader

Rita.Abdulkader@ipswichhospital.nhs.uk

Frances Borg

Frances.Borg@southend.nhs.uk

 

 

 

 

Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Consultant:

Daisy Nirmal
Daisy.nirmal@nnuh.nhs.uk

Ophthalmology

Consultant Lead:

Elena Novitskaya 

elena.novitskaya@gmail.com

 

Trainee Rep:

Chetana Patel
 

 

Paediatrics

Consultant:

Dr. Anshoo Dhelaria

anshoo.dhelaria@nhs.net

 

Pathology

Due to it's size the School of Pathology has not specifically appointed an LTFT Lead. For all queries and support, please contact:

Jumoke Sule, Training Programme Director (TPD) for Medical Microbiology

jumoke.sule@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Adrian Park, Training Programme Director (TPD) for Chemical Pathology

adrian.park@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Hongi Zhang, Training Programme Director (TPD) for Virology

hongyi.zhang@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Alternatively, please contact the LTFT team at Health Education England (HEE) east of England (EoE) who will be happy to answer any queries you may have:

ltft.eoe@hee.nhs.uk

Psychiatry

Consultant:

Fiona Thompson 

fiona.thompson@cpft.nhs.uk 

Public Health

Consultant:

Sara Godward

sara.godward1@nhs.net

T:07526 095784

Radiology

Consultants:

Jude Babar

judith.babar@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Emma Senior

Emma.Senior@wsh.nhs.uk

Surgery

Specialty

Consultant 

Trainee

Otolaryngology (ENT)

Geni Rodgers

Geni.rogers@pah.nhs.uk

Isobel Fitzgerald O'Connor

isobel.fitzgeraldoconnor@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Anna Kaleva

Anna.kaleva@nhs.net

I am an Otolaryngology trainee, currently ST6 (October 2020) working 80% LTFT. I started my specialty training in October 2016. In January 2018 I started 12 months of maternity leave, returning in January 2019 80% LTFT. My husband works away during the week so I am responsible for all childcare Mon-Thurs. The trust I returned to had not had an ENT LTFT SpR previously. Although everyone is very supportive, their experience with how to make the arrangements is limited. This meant I had to do a lot of my own research on how to organise things and how it affected my educational requirements for training. Since then, I have also had great support from Miss Fitzgerald-O’Connor. Thanks to her I have learned from her more about how LTFT works, what ways in which a placement can be modified to accommodate LTFT and tips on handling potential difficulties which may arise in due course. Having a mentor has been hugely beneficial, it has made me feel empowered when negotiating a work schedule and also has increased my confidence that it will be workable whatever the difficulties.

Being LTFT Rep would allow me to share my experience and new knowledge with others and hopefully make it easier for them. I have accumulated a number of resources which I would happily share with other potential LTFT trainees. As I am  still early in my training, I will be rotating through a number of trusts and I will learn how to make it work in each one. Hopefully this knowledge will then help others and I will be able to answer questions they may have. Just as having a mentor has helped me, I hope that I can similarly help others.

General surgery

Gill Clayton

Gill.Clayton@meht.nhs.uk

 

General/Core Surgery

Bhaskar Kumar

bhaskar.kumar@nnuh.nhs.uk

Antonia Wells

antonia.wells@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Paediatric Surgery

Claire Jackson

claire.jackson@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

 

Plastic Surgery

Ian Grant

ian.grant@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Hannah John

hannahiypej@gmail.com

Trauma and Orthopaedics (T&O)

Vigdis Thorisdottir

Vigdis.Thorisdottir@wsh.nhs.uk

 

Urology

Georgina Wilson

georgina.wilson@wsh.nhs.uk

 

Vascular Surgery

Felicity Meyer

felicity.meyer@nnuh.nhs.uk

I am a consultant vascular surgeon and Chief of Service for Surgery at the Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital. I have been a member of the East of England less than full-time training team for the last 2 years and have recently been appointed as the RCS Surgeons Flexible Working Advisor. I have a passion for teaching and training and am mindful of the often hidden obstacles for those trainees who need to work less than full time having struggled myself in the past with small children, competitive career progression and a full-time job. Less than full time training allowed me to achieve my career goals as well as caring for my family. This opportunity should be available to everyone who needs it for whatever reason so that we can get the best trainees to fulfil their promise both within the workplace and outside it.

 

 

West Hertfordshire Trust

Michelle Jacobs

michellejacobs@nhs.net

Histopathology

Consultant:

Victoria Snowdon, Histopathology TPD

victoria.snowdon@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Consultant:

Christopher Fowell, OMFS TPD

c.fowell@nhs.net  

Former LTFT Trainee - Now an ENT Consultant
 

Image I worked as a LTFT Training for 8 years and would have left medicine otherwise. It enabled me to continue my surgical training and take my FRCS exams whilst caring for 2 children and living apart from my husband who was a locum consultant in another city. When I started I was the only trainee working LTFT Ttraining in my speciality, there have since been 6 others and it is now a well established pathway in the region I trained in. I’m keen to encourage trainees who might benefit from working LTFT Training to continue to work whilst maintaining their caring responsibilities. Image

 

Former LTFT Trainee - Now a Consultant in Emergency Medicine

ImageTraining LTFT in the east of England has made a considerable difference to me personally by improving my work / life balance. I love the fact that I can work hard and enjoy my job at the beginning of the week but I can also have days away from work each week to spend precious time with my children. Image

Image

Thursday, 31 January, 2019
Make this a News Item?: 
Show Between Dates: 
Thursday, 31 January, 2019
X