Workforce, training and education
East of England

ACCS Anaesthesia in the East of England

The Eastern region is a wide geographical area serviced by 18 acute hospital Trusts ranging from the QEH at King's Lynn in Norfolk to Southend in Essex and includes the University teaching hospitals at Norfolk and Norwich. The Deanery covers a population of five million people in six counties.

In line with national recruitment, all ACCS posts in the EoE Deanery are now themed. We expect to offer 14 ACCS anaesthesia posts each year.

The CT1 and CT2 years consist of six month posts in emergency medicine, acute medicine, anaesthesia and critical care. The rotations will be based in two hospitals. Excellent training takes place in all four acute care specialities in CT1/2 and the rotations are designed to deliver the competencies prescribed in the curriculum. In almost all the rotations, the first year CT1 will consist of emergency and acute medicine and CT2 will be in anaesthesia/critical care. Log books and continuous assessments are carried out throughout the training. There are formal annual assessments to review progress and plan further placements and training - the annual review of competency progression - ARCP.

All stage 1 and ACCS anaesthetics rotations are designed to rotate between two hospital sites, these details are included in the job offer which you have accepted. Please note that changes to these rotations are not permitted, as per the GMC guidance ( Ref: Good Medical Practice, point 38 ).
In the event of an exceptional change in your circumstances, resulting in a request to change rotations, each case will be reviewed by the Head of School and subsequently the Deputy Postgraduate Dean.


Thursday, 6 August, 2020
Make this a News Item?: 
Show Between Dates: 
Thursday, 6 August, 2020